Bite Sized=No Thanks?

Sorry for the lack of posting. Things have been crazy with work. For those that don’t know I am a public school teacher (the budget cuts are a huge stress), but I’m also working toward my masters at night. So that means two nights a week I don’t get home until after 8:30 pm. After  I get home I’m totally exhausted and it’s all I can do to muster up the energy to play with Mason (when he’s awake to see me.)

But…..

This past weekend we took Mason out for pizza. When the food came I cut a bunch of bite-sized pieces for him to eat. I put them in front of him and he  proceeded to throw them on the floor one by one. Frustrated I just gave him the rest of the slice figuring maybe he would play with it but at least it would occupy him long enough I could eat my food.

Little did I know I was embarking on quite the discovery and it was a thing of beauty.

He ate the ENTIRE slice. I gave him another slice about the same size (maybe 2/3 of the slice) and he ate that one!  Clearly  he didn’t want small baby bites; he wanted a slice that looked more like what we were eating.  I plan on testing this theory with a sandwich to see if he’ll eat it if I give him a more substantial piece. My only concern is that it be big enough so it won’t be a chocking hazard but not so small he won’t eat it. Any suggestions on things I can try to feed him??

Here is a terrible picture of  Mason (it was taken from my phone) eating his first muffin…of course he wanted to hold and eat the entire thing. Why was I so surprised about him wanting the entire slice of pizza??

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Bite Sized=No Thanks?

  1. RhodeyGirl says:

    Do you think you might be turning a corner on this picky eater thing?!?!!?!? What a wonderful discovery!

Leave a Reply

