>18 Month Stats

>

I can’t believe Mason is 1.5!! Time has flown by. He weighed in at whopping 24 lbs (25th percentile, which is much better than the 5th where he’s been sitting for the last year) and he’s 33 inches tall, which puts him in the 75th percentile. I spoke with the pediatrician about his horrible eating habits. He told me not to worry and I should look at his diet on a weekly basis, not a daily basis. I shouldn’t worry if all he’ll eat on a given day is yogurt and Goldfish. I’m a big fan of our pedi. He’s very laid back and not worried at all (I wasn’t either, but it still helps to hear!)

One thing Mason LOVES is Purdue chicken strips. I love that they make them with whole wheat breading, but I hate the massive amounts of sodium. To remedy this I tried making my own chicken nuggets for him…I pounded chicken breasts, dredged them in flour and egg then coated in Italian Panko for the breading. Finally I baked them 350. I thought it tasted pretty damn good but my little toddler terrorist wouldn’t even taste them! It’s as if he knew they weren’t processed and full of salt so he just couldn’t be bothered. If he could give me the finger I think he would have. I need to get a picture of the face he makes when he doesn’t want to eat something.

Any recipes for “chicken nuggets” or nugget alternatives we can try?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to >18 Month Stats

  1. Meghan says:

    Oh, I feel your pain! I spent about 2 hours one night making those Jessica Seinfeld nuggets with the broccoli puree mixed in. My son (who was probably around 2 at the time) wouldn’t even look at them. He will be 3 this May and is pickier than ever, so I am going to be following your blog closely!

    • srvogel says:

      Isn’t that the worst?? I always feel so much pride after I cook my son a healthy, great meal (particularly since I barely cook for myself and husband) and when he inevitably won’t even taste it or just feeds it to the dog I get so discouraged and frustrated. Please share any ideas/foods that work for your son. I’m desperate for suggestions.

Leave a Reply

